

PRESS RELEASE

Ceremony on Saturday at the LWL Museum on Domplatz

Tsipras and Zaev accept the International Prize of Peace of Westphalia in Münster

Münster/Westphalia, August 25, 2021: Münster will once again receive a high-ranking visitor this coming weekend: former Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras and the current North Macedonian Prime Minister Zoran Zaev will come to the city to accept the 2020 International Peace of Westphalia Prize - after a delay of almost a year due to the pandemic. Their laudator is the Latvian President Egils Levits. He represents one of the three Baltic states that were jointly honored with the Peace Prize in 2018. The Economic Society for Westphalia and Lippe (WWL) honors Tsipras and Zaev for their agreement in the Macedonian name dispute.

Felix Finkbeiner and the representatives of the young "ambassadors for climate justice" from Plant-for-the-Planet will receive the 2020 Youth Award. Their laudatory speech will be given by Sarna Röser, Federal Chairwoman of the Young Entrepreneurs Association. In order to ensure a corona-compliant event, the award ceremony will take place for the first time in the atrium of the LWL State Museum of Art and Culture on Domplatz rather than in the ballroom of Münster's town hall.

TV broadcast and public viewing

The people of Münster will once again be able to watch the festive awards ceremony live on WDR television, via internet stream or at a public viewing event: From 11 a.m., the 90-minute broadcast will be shown on a video wall on Stubengasse.

Traditional greeting from the Sentenzbogen

Immediately after the award ceremony, the new recipients of the Peace Prize will greet the people on Prinzipalmarkt - as is now traditional. Between 1 p.m. and 2 p.m., the honorees and laudators will appear on the Sentenzbogen of the Stadtweinhaus. At the awards ceremonies in previous years, the people of Münster have given the prizewinners such as Helmut Schmidt, Kofi Annan and Jordan's King Abdullah II an extremely warm welcome.

The German Peace Prize, which has the highest endowment of 100,000 euros and is financed by renowned entrepreneurs from Westphalia and Lippe, is awarded every two years. The WWL wants to use the prize to illustrate how politics and business, peace, stability and prosperity are interrelated and influence each other. In addition to Schmidt, Annan and Abdullah II, previous recipients include Václav Havel, Helmut

Kohl, Carla del Ponte, Kurt Masur, Valéry Giscard d'Estaing, Daniel Barenboim and the crews of the ISS space station.

In addition to personalities or representatives of states or groups who have become role models for peace work in Europe and the world, young people are also honored for their exemplary work for peace and reconciliation and their commitment to sustainability and the future of their generation. These include the carol singers, the youth work of the War Graves Commission and the scouts.

Detailed information on the International Peace of Westphalia Prize and all previous prizewinners can be found at www.westfaelischer-friedenspreis.de