

PRESS RELEASE

Ceremony at the LWL-Landesmuseum

International Prize of Peace of Westphalia 2020 to be awarded at a ceremony on August 28

Münster/Westphalia, July 2, 2021 - Almost a year later than planned, the "new" winners will receive the International Peace of Westphalia Prize 2020 on August 28, the Economic Society for Westphalia and Lippe (WWL) announced today in Münster. The ceremony planned for September 2020 had been postponed due to the pandemic.

The WWL had already announced the current award winners in spring 2020. The award honors the former Greek Prime Minister Alexis Tsipras and the current North Macedonian Prime Minister Zoran Zaev for their agreement in the Macedonian name dispute. The 2020 Youth Award goes to Felix Finkbeiner and the representatives of the young "Ambassadors for Climate Justice" from Plant-for-the-Planet.

In order to ensure a corona-compliant event with generous air circulation, the award ceremony will take place for the first time not in the ballroom of Münster's town hall, but in the atrium of the LWL State Museum of Art and Culture on Domplatz. "We are delighted that we can now finally hold the ceremony in a dignified setting in which all current regulations can be taken into account," explains WWL Chairman Dr. Reinhard Zinkann. WDR television will once again broadcast the event live.

The Latvian President Egils Levits has already agreed to be the laudator for Alexis Tsipras and Zoran Zaev. He not only represents one of the three Baltic states that were honored with the Westphalian Peace Prize in 2018. Levits has close ties to Münster, having attended the Latvian grammar school here in the 1970s. "President Levits represents a smaller state in the north-east of the EU and therefore has a very special perspective on the south-eastern countries of our two award winners," explains WWL Chairman Zinkann. "This allows us to recognize similarities and differences that are of great importance for our community of states."

Numerous guests of honor are once again expected to attend the ceremony in Münster on August 28. The traditional entry in the city's Golden Book is planned, as is a joint appearance by the honorees and speakers on the Sentenzbogen of the Stadtweinhaus on Prinzipalmarkt. "Due to the corona situation, however, we have to expect organizational changes at short notice," explains Dr. Reinhard Zinkann.

The International Peace of Westphalia Prize, endowed with 100,000 euros and sponsored by the WWL and financed by renowned entrepreneurs from Westphalia and Lippe, is awarded every two years. Previous recipients include the former UN

Secretary-General Kofi Annan, Jordanian King Abdullah II, conductor Daniel Barenboim, the former Chancellors Helmut Schmidt and Helmut Kohl as well as the crews of the International Space Station ISS and the three Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.

In addition to personalities or representatives of states or groups who have become role models for peace work in Europe and the world, young people are also honored whose actions have already set an example for political, social and ecological reconciliation and thus for peace in the world. These include the carol singers, the youth work of the War Graves Commission and the Scouts and Guides.

Detailed information on the International Peace of Westphalia Prize and all previous prize winners can be found at www.westfaelischer-friedenspreis.de