PRESS RELEASE



International Prize of Peace of Westphalia to be awarded at a ceremony in Münster's town hall on Saturday

Four heads of state greet the people at Prinzipalmarkt

Münster/Westphalia, July 9, 2018 - The award ceremony for the International Price of Peace of Westphalia will once again attract high-ranking visitors to Münster on Saturday (July 14). Immediately after the ceremony in the historic town hall, the heads of state of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania will greet the people on Prinzipalmarkt. Estonian President Kersti Kaljulaid, Lithuanian President Dalia Grybauskaitė and Latvian President Raimonds Vējonis will join the laudator, Federal President Frank-Walter Steinmeier, as well as NRW Prime Minister Armin Laschet and Münster's Lord Mayor Markus Lewe on the Sentence Arch of the Stadtweinhaus at around 12.45 pm. At the awards ceremonies in previous years, thousands of Münster residents gave the prizewinners such as Helmut Schmidt, Kofi Annan and Jordan's King Abdullah II an extremely warm welcome.

The heads of state accepted the Peace Prize on behalf of the people of the Baltic States. Dr. Reinhard Zinkann, Chairman of the Economic Society for Westphalia and Lippe (WWL), which awards the prize every two years, explained that the three countries were being honored for their intensive efforts to integrate into the Western value system of democracy and freedom.

"We can learn from the Baltic states what unity makes possible," said Zinkann. "Just think of the human chain in 1989 - it was the largest ever, and it stretched across all three Baltic states."

Young people who have shown exemplary commitment to peace will also be honored again this year: The WWL is awarding the 2018 Youth Prize to the Ringe Deutscher Pfadfinderinnen und Pfadfinder. Scouting, the world's largest youth movement, is being honored for its peace-oriented achievements. Minister President Laschet will hold the laudatory speech for the youth award winners.

A first highlight on Saturday from 9.30 a.m. onwards will be the arrival of the Federal President and the official guests in front of the town hall. Together with Minister President Laschet, Lord Mayor Lewe and WWL Chairman Zinkann, Frank-Walter Steinmeier will welcome the heads of state from the Baltic States. The distinguished guests will arrive in Münster on Friday evening to take part in the traditional "prizewinners' dinner" with the Peace Prize Board of Trustees.

The people of Münster will once again be able to follow the festive award ceremony live on WDR television, via internet live stream or at a public viewing event: From 11 a.m., the 90-minute broadcast will be shown on a video wall on Stubengasse.

Numerous Scouts and Guides will also be present there to present the commitment of their organization to the people of Münster. The Baltic states will also be presenting themselves on activity areas in Stubengasse.

The International Peace of Westphalia Prize, which was awarded for the first time exactly 20 years ago, has already gone to Václav Havel, Helmut Kohl, Carla del Ponte, Kurt Masur, Valéry Giscard d'Estaing, Kofi Annan, Daniel Barenboim, Helmut Schmidt, the crews of the ISS space station and Jordanian King Abdullah II ibn Al Hussein. Together with personalities or representatives of states that have become role models for peace work in Europe and the world, young people are also always honored whose actions have set an example for political, social and ecological reconciliation and thus for peace in the world. Most recently, Aktion Sühnezeichen Friedensdienste and the youth work of the Volksbund Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge e. V. were honored here.

Notes for editors:

Printable images and lots of background information can be found at www.friedenspreis-presse.de

Accreditation for reporting on the ceremony is only possible until Tuesday (July 10) at 6 pm. If you have not received the official press invitation, please contact presse@preis-des-westfaelischen-friedens.de