

PRESS RELEASE

Multimedia information will be available to visitors from summer

The International Prize of the Peace of Westphalia will soon have a permanent presence in Münster's town hall

Münster/Westphalia, January 17, 2018 - The International Prize of Peace of Westphalia will have a "permanent place" in Münster's town hall to mark the 20th anniversary of its first award. In future, visitors will be offered a permanent and detailed presentation of the Peace Prize in the foyer of the traditional building - with multimedia information on all previous prize winners and all festive awards ceremonies since 1998. This was announced today by the Economic Society for Westphalia and Lippe (WWL).

"We are delighted that people will be aware of the Peace Prize on a daily basis in future - and not just every two years when our ceremony takes place in the town hall," said WWL Chairman Dr. Reinhard Zinkann. From the summer, interested guests will be able to find out about the background and history of the award on iPads in the town hall. The Peace Prize will also be on display in the form of a bronze sculpture of the Westphalian horse and an original award certificate.

"After ten ceremonies and award ceremonies, we approached the city at an early stage with the idea of offering visitors a permanent presentation of the prize in the town hall," reported Dr. Reinhard Zinkann. "This idea was immediately welcomed by the city and in particular by Lord Mayor Markus Lewe." The Peace Prize presentation is embedded in a newly designed digital mediation offering of the Peace of Westphalia in the civic hall of the historic town hall. This is being implemented as part of the large-scale project "Peace.Europe", which is being realized by the cities of Münster and Osnabrück in the European Cultural Heritage Year "ECHY 2018".

This year's International Prize of the Peace of Westphalia will be awarded to the three Baltic states of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania as well as the organization of the Scouts. The award ceremony will take place on July 14 in Münster City Hall. Since 1998, the award has already gone to Václav Havel, Helmut Kohl, Carla del Ponte, Kurt Masur, Valéry Giscard d'Estaing, Kofi Annan, Daniel Barenboim, Helmut Schmidt, the crews of the ISS space station and Jordan's King Abdullah II ibn Al Hussein. Together with personalities or representatives of states who have become role models for peace work in Europe and the world, young people are also always honored whose actions have set an example for political, social and ecological reconciliation and thus for peace in the world. The most recent recipients of this award were Aktion Sühnezeichen Friedensdienste and the youth work of the Volksbund Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge e. V. (German War Graves Commission).

All further information on the International Prize of the Peace of Westphalia can be found at www.westfaelischer- friedenspreis.de