

## PRESS RELEASE

## **Background information**

## **Prize of Peace of Westphalia**

**Münster/Westphalia.** Religious peace, tolerance and federalism were the key points of the Peace of Westphalia concluded in Münster and Osnabrück in 1648, which ended the Thirty Years' War. As a symbol of the continued validity of these postulates, the Wirtschaftliche Gesellschaft für Westfalen und Lippe e.V. established the Peace of Westphalia Prize in 1998, on the 350th anniversary of the peace treaty.

Every two years, the highest endowed German peace prize of 100,000 euros is awarded in two equal categories (until 2010, the prize was endowed with 50,000 euros): It is awarded to individuals who have made an exemplary contribution to the federal organization of Europe, the implementation of the principle of subsidiarity and the peaceful reconciliation of peoples. The Youth Prize is awarded to young people or youth groups whose actions have set an example for reconciliation and peace.

By awarding the Westphalian Peace Prize, the WWL aims to contribute to the discussion on the internal structures of Europe and the coexistence of people in Europe. in a Europe of the regions. The winners receive the Peace Prize in the form of a bronze sculpture of the Westphalian horse, which was designed by the Bielefeld artist Nina Koch.

In the past years, the prize has been awarded to:

**1998:** Václav Havel, former President of the Czech Republic Republic "Gesto por la Paz", Basque youth initiative

**2000:** Dr. Helmut Kohl, former German Chancellor Ekola-Gymnasium in Breslau and Conrad-von-Soest- grammar school in Soest

**2002:** Carla Del Ponte, Chief Prosecutor of the War Crimes Tribunal in The Hague "Students Helping Lives", student initiative for children and young people in the Balkans

**2004:** Professor Kurt Masur, Conductor The carol singers - children help children

**2006:** Valéry Giscard d<sup>´</sup>Estaing, former French President, The young people at the von Bodelschwinghsche Anstalten Bethel

**2008:** Kofi Annan, former Secretary-General of the United Nations, Community of Young Maltese

2010: Daniel Barenboim, conductor and pianist, West-Eastern Divan Orchestra

2012: Helmut Schmidt, former German Chancellor, "Children for a better World e. V."