

PRESS RELEASE

Westphalian Peace Prize: Ceremony on October 25

Laudators Buhrow and Steinmeier honor the new Peace Prize winners

Münster/Westphalia, September 23, 2014: Tom Buhrow and Dr. Frank-Walter Steinmeier will be this year's laudators at the award ceremony for the Peace of Westphalia Prize. Former Washington correspondent and current WDR director Buhrow will give the laudatory speech for the crews of the International Space Station (ISS), while Federal Foreign Minister Steinmeier will pay tribute to the youth work of the German War Graves Commission. The names of the two speakers were announced today in Münster by the Economic Society for Westphalia and Lippe (WWL). The prize will be awarded at a ceremony on October 25 at Münster Town Hall.

"Public and media interest in our award ceremony has continued to grow in recent years," said a delighted Dr. Reinhard Zinkann, Chairman of the Economic Society. The WWL had already announced this year's winners in the spring. According to the jury's statement, the ISS space travelers on the "outpost of humanity" impressively demonstrate "that peaceful international cooperation between partners from different cultures is possible". The Peace Prize for the ISS will be accepted on 25 October on behalf of the astronaut trio Dr. Thomas Reiter (Germany), Michael Lopez-Alegria (USA) and Pavel Vinogradov (Russia).

The young adults involved in the youth work of the War Graves Commission are honored for their "active contribution to international understanding". Foreign Minister Frank-Walter Steinmeier presents the Peace Prize on behalf of three young people who are involved in Volksbund youth camps.

Direct link to the ISS

"During the award ceremony, we will show a direct link to the International Space Station," announced WWL Chairman Dr. Reinhard Zinkann. In the run-up to the ceremony, presenter Sabine Scholt will speak with German Alexander Gerst, who will still be on board the ISS on October 25. In addition, the unifying work of the space travelers and the Youth Award winners will be honored in a short film. A camera team is currently visiting a War Graves Commission youth camp in Sarajevo for the filming.

WWL looks forward to numerous guests of honor

According to Dr. Reinhard Zinkann, the Economic Society for Westphalia and Lippe is expecting a large number of guests of honor to attend the ceremony in Münster. In addition to the German astronaut Dr. Reinhold Ewald, Saxony's Minister President Stanislaw Tillich and the Deputy NRW Minister President Sylvia Löhrmann have also

confirmed their attendance. As President of the German War Graves Commission, SPD politician Markus

Meckel will take part in the ceremony, while North Rhine-Westphalia's Minister of Justice Thomas Kutschaty will represent the War Graves Commission as state chairman.

"Public viewing" on the Stubengasse

As at previous award ceremonies, the live broadcast by WDR television can be followed from 11 a.m. at the "Public Viewing" on Stubengasse in Münster's city center. Some of the Volksbund's young people will also be there to introduce the people of Münster to the work of the War Graves Commission.

Award winners present themselves on the Prinzipalmarkt

Immediately after the ceremony, the new recipients of the Prize of Peace of Westphalia will greet the people on Prinzipalmarkt. At around 1 p.m., the honorees and guests of honour will make their traditional appearance on the Sentenzbogen of the Stadtweinhaus. Following previous award ceremonies, thousands of Münster residents have given a warm welcome to award winners such as Kofi Annan and Helmut Schmidt.

Peace Prize with a new website

Just in time for the award ceremony, the Economic Society for Westphalia and Lippe has launched a completely revamped website. It not only offers detailed information about the WWL and all previous Peace Prize winners. On the day of the award ceremony

www.westfaelischer-friedenspreis.de is reported live in text and images for all interested parties. In addition

the Peace Prize is also represented on Twitter (twitter.com/westf_friedensp) and on Facebook (www.facebook.com/westfaelischerfriedenspreis).

Note for editorial offices: Printable images of today's press release can be found at www.friedenspreis-presse.de.