## PRESS RELEASE



## Award ceremony on October 25 at Münster City Hall

Prize of Peace of Westphalia goes to ISS space travelers and the youth work of the War Graves Commission

**Münster/Westphalia, March 13, 2014** - The 2014 Prize of Peace of Westphalia goes to the crews of the International Space Station (ISS) and the youth work of the German War Graves Commission. This was announced today in Münster by the Economic Society for Westphalia and Lippe (WWL). The board of trustees, consisting of Westphalian business personalities, had previously approved the vote of an international jury. The prize money of 100,000 euros is traditionally divided equally between the two winners. The prize will be awarded at a ceremony on October 25 at Münster City Hall.

"Men and women who were still living in hostile blocs during the Cold War now work and live together in a very confined space as a matter of course," says the WWL's explanatory statement about the ISS space travelers. "The success of this 'outpost of humanity' in space proves that peaceful international cooperation between partners from different cultures is possible." The prize will be awarded to an international group of astronauts and cosmonauts who were part of the ISS crew.

Together with the space travelers, the Volksbund Deutsche Kriegsgräberfürsorge e.V. is being honored for its youth work. The association is the only war graves service in the world to run its own youth work as well as its own youth meeting and educational centers in four different countries, where thousands of young people from all over Europe come together every year. "The meetings of young Europeans help to develop mutual understanding and break down prejudices through encounters with the population of the host country," emphasized Dr. Reinhard Zinkann, Chairman of the WWL. In this way, the young people were making an active contribution to international understanding.

"With the Prize of the Peace of Westphalia, we are keeping alive the memory of what the envoys achieved in Münster and Osnabrück in 1648," explained Zinkann. The historic treaty was inspired by the dream of peace, which not only moved people in the places where peace was signed, but also people throughout Europe and the world. Zinkann: "This continues to this day and gives meaning to the awarding of our Peace Prize every two years."

Since the prize was founded in 1998, Valéry Giscard d'Estaing, Helmut Kohl and Václav Havel have been joined by Carla del Ponte, Kurt Masur, Kofi Annan, Daniel Barenboim and Helmut Schmidt. Together with personalities who have become role models for peace work in Europe and the world through their life's work, young

people are also always honored who have made a significant contribution to peace through their work. who have set an example for political, social and ecological reconciliation and thus for peace in the world.